“Be careful who you make memories with. Those things can last a lifetime.” — Ugo Eze

This is a quote that Google delivered up. It strikes at my heart when it puts so starkly how we sear moments in our minds, as if hammering nails into stone.

I found this quote by trawling the web, which I sometimes do when I am looking for song titles.

The songs I was looking for were Lukas Graham’s Seven Years and Avicii’s The Nights.

They are similar, these songs to each other and to the Ugo Eze quote.

In ‘Seven Years’, Graham travels in time without moving from the studio mic. He sings about the life lessons dished out by doting parents to his seven year-old self, and then he speculates about the descendants of his sixty year-old self. It doesn’t sound as odd when he sings it, because of the pattern he’s arranged these time hops in. They’re as neat and as wistful as irregular diary entries spanning decades in a single spiral-bound book.

For Avicii, his father is the one bequeathing advice: He said, “One day you’ll leave this world behind, so live a life you will remember.”

That’s poignant and it punches my heart too, but what is more tragic is a future where we have nothing but a past.

There is another quote, whose provenance I don’t recall. This is, you could say, apt.
I’ve had so many wonderful moments with you that I cannot remember them all.

For all kinds of reasons, we cling to memories.

